DAVID PISARRA

GETTING DIVORCE READY !

In Child Support, Property Issues, Spousal Support, Strategy Issues on July 23, 2009 at 10:43 am

Here’s a great article WWW.SUNHERALD.COM that takes my advice on record keeping for getting Divorce Ready: http://www.sunherald.com/love/story/1493567.html :


2. Organize important records.

Critical records like your will, birth certificate, passport, 401(k) statements and tax returns, should be stored in a safe and easily accessible spot, such as a safe. Keeping things neat and clean is crucial for divorcing couples. “Make copies of everything related to financial issues,” said Santa Monica, Calif.-based family law attorney David Pisarra. “When couples split up, bills are no longer jointly paid so if you are contemplating a divorce it’s critical to acknowledge the financial components that come along with it.”

Good article on planning and strategy.

  1. That article is worth its weight in gold. During my divorce the first thing my wife did was throw all of my belongings into trash bags. Once my stuff was all bagged up she simply tossed them onto my back porch and asked me to come and pick them up. By the time I arrived too pick up my belongings they were already ruined. It had been raining most of the day. The only form of identification that I was left with was my DL….that was horrible.

Leave a Reply

